Saving the tree state
You may choose to save the state of the Tree pane whenever you save or close a TreePad file, so that when you reopen it, TreePad "remembers" which subtrees were expanded and displays the article in which you had been working before you closed the file. This is particularly useful if you frequently switch between files in the same instance of TreePad.
To save the tree state, click Main menu ⁄ View ⁄ Options ⁄ Tree and tick the box marked Save and load tree state to .tps file. This creates an additional file with the same name as the current file but the extension .tps (TreePad settings), in the same folder as the current file.
If there is no existing .tps file, enabling this feature will create one upon closing or saving the file. If a .tps file has already been created, it will be overwritten.
- Using the Ctrl+Alt+R command with the tree state save option means that with one keyboard shortcut you can return to the last article opened in the previous file.
- If you disable saving the tree state, the .tps file belonging to the currently open file will be deleted when the file is next saved. While this option remains disabled, if you open a TreePad file with an associated .tps file, the .tps file will be deleted when you save the main file. If you wish to remove any other .tps files, you will need to search for and delete them using some other method, such as via Windows Explorer, a cleanup program or a batch file.
- Recall that pressing Ctrl+S to save a TreePad file does not actually save it unless it has been changed. However, the tree state is also saved whenever you close the file, whether or not it has been changed. This can be useful to take you back to where you left off if you were browsing a long document and did not wish to create a bookmark.
- Since the .tps file is created⁄overwritten every time the file is closed, the Save tree state feature is quite independent of any TreePad shutdown save options settings.
- The .tps file is not copied if you use the Save As command, but if the option is ticked, a .tps file with the new filename is created. You may want to delete the .tps file with the original filename.
- TreePad settings files store only settings relevant to the corresponding .tpd (or .hjt) file and do not contain any general TreePad options, which are stored in the Windows Registry by default.
- You can safely delete the .tps file without affecting the main TreePad database.