To exit TreePad
- Click Main menu ⁄ File ⁄ Exit; or
- Press Alt+F4.
See Main menu ⁄ View ⁄ Options ⁄ Shutdown for shutdown options available. These are concerned with
- whether to automatically save unsaved changes made to your current file, discard them or prompt you;
- whether to automatically retain the the TreePad Clipboard files, delete them or prompt you.
Saving changes made to your current file
The TreePad Clipboard
At shutdown, TreePad gives you three Clipboard options:
- Automatically clear TreePad clipboard when TP closes
- Ask whether or not to clear TP clipboard when TreePad closes
- Do not clear TP clipboard when TreePad closes
If you are running two or more instances of TreePad concurrently, you may find this prompt unnecessary, so in Main menu ⁄ View ⁄ Options ⁄ Shutdown TreePad gives you the option of letting the program delete the file or doing nothing about it.
If you are using the TreePad Clipboard to store a frequently-pasted template you may want to keep this file, particularly if you are only closing one of several concurrent copies of TreePad. On the other hand, if the leaving the clip stored poses a security risk it may be safer to opt for automatic deletion by TreePad, or to ensure that the contents of C:\Windows\TEMP are routinely erased by another program. See also TreePad Clipboard and security