The 'Article security' function allows locking out users of specific article content, or preventing users from changing certain articles.
By clicking the small 'lock icon' (which resides on the left-bottom part of the TPX Client screen) power users can open the article security screen (screen shot):
Power users can also open the article security screen by clicking Menu: Tools⁄Security⁄Article
Please note that regular (non-power) users will not be able to open the article security screen.
You can resize (or even maximize) this dialog to increase the listbox in which users are shown.
Use the ctrl or shift key to select multiple users if necessary.
Explanation of the options:
'Write⁄read access', or 'full access' allows a user to change the content of the article
'Read-only access' enables the user to read the content of the article, but not to change it
'Deny access' will prevent the user from accessing the article. Instead 'access denied' will be shown in the article.
'Default access' currently has the same effect as write⁄read access, but this might change in the future.
Note: if no user-rights have been set for an article⁄user combination, the access-right for that article⁄user is 'default', which in the current version is the same as 'write⁄read access'.
After pressing 'next', the following screen appears:
This screen presents a choice of applying the user-rights (as specified in step 1) to the current article only, or to all articles in the subtree.
In case you select the last option ('Specified user rights are applied to ALL articles in subtree'), 'Step 3' will appear in which you can make a final selection of affected users (see the screenshot below).
Only those users which have their access rights altered (in step 1) are shown as checked (when step 3 first appears). In step 3 you can also manually check⁄uncheck specific users.
After pressing the 'Finish' button, only those users which are 'checked' (in step 3) will be updated.