The 'Subtree security' function allows preventing users from seeing certain subtrees.
Through the 'lock icon' on the left-bottom of the TreePad X Client program, or by clicking menu⁄tools⁄security⁄subtree one can open the Subtree security screen (screen shot):
Explanation of the options:
'Full access' allows a user to change the content of the subtree (delete, move, create nodes)
'Deny access' will hide all nodes for the user
'Parent access' will make the subtree have the same access rights as subtree's parent node. Of no rights have been set in the subtree or any of its parent nodes for a user, effectively this user has full access to all tree nodes.
'Readonly access' prevents users from changing the subtree through drag-drop, delete, import, copy⁄paste, etc.
After pressing 'next', the following screen appears:
This screen presents a choice of applying the settings specified in step 1 to the current node only, or to make the subtree rights of all nodes effectively the same as specified in step 1.
Only if you enable the option 'apply the specified subtree-rights to each node in subtree', a final screen will appear in which you can select users and unselect users. Only for selected users, settings defined in step 1 will be applied to the current node all other nodes in the current subtree.