The recycle bin contains
- deleted nodes and articles
- deleted images
- deleted attachments
You can access the recycle bin through menu⁄tools⁄recycler or the recycler icon on the lower left of the TreePad X Client main window. (for the multi-user edition: the recycle bin is only accessible to Power users )
Recycle bin: deleted nodes
Deleting a node in TreePad's tree will move it to the recycle bin. Any images and attachments associated with that node are not visible in the images and attachments recycler list until you permanently wipe the node from the node recycler list.
Deleted nodes, which are nodes listed in the node recycler list can be restored or permanently deleted. Restoring nodes is done through the recycler 'restore' button. Restored nodes+articles will be transferred to a node on level one in the tree (direct child node of the root node). Deleting nodes permanently will wipe the nodes and associated articles from the database. Deleting nodes permanently moves any attachments and images contained in these nodes to the images and attachments recycler lists. Select multiple nodes by holding down the ctrl key while clicking on these nodes.
Recycle bin: deleted images
The recycler 'images list' contains images which are not contained inside any article anymore. Deleting an image directly from a TreePad article moves that image to (the images list in) the recycler. However, if that exact image is also contained inside another article, it will not show up in the recycler.
Please note that deleting nodes⁄articles containing images will not directly make these images show up in the recycler. Only after permanently wiping the nodes⁄articles, will the images contained therein be moved to the images recycler list. You can select multiple images by holding down the ctrl key while clicking on the numbers representing deleted images.
Deleting an image from the recycler with the 'delete' button will wipe it permanently from the database. The button 'export' exports an image to an external file on harddisk.
Recycle bin: deleted attachments.
The recycler 'attachment list' contains attachments which are not associated with an article anymore. Deleting an attachment directly from the attachment pane moves it to (the attachment list in) the recycler.
Please note that deleting nodes⁄articles having attachments linked to them will not directly move these attachments to the recycler. Only after permanently wiping the nodes⁄articles from the recycler, will the attachments contained therein be moved to the attachments list in the recycler. Select multiple attachments by holding down the ctrl key while clicking on list items.
Deleting an attachment from the recycler using the 'delete' button will wipe it permanently from the database. The button 'export' exports a deleted attachment to a file on harddisk.
Recycle bin: 'wipe all' function
The Recycler 'wipe all' function will completely empty all lists in the recycle bin. In more detail, it will (1) first wipe all deleted nodes⁄articles from the database, then wipe all (2) deleted images and (3) deleted attachments.